From the Desk of the Headmaster – 17 January 2023

Dear Parents

Welcome back to the 2023 Academic Year!

We are pleased to be able to confirm academic staff team details for 2023.

Reception UnitFoundation PhaseIntermediate & Senior Phase
Head Teacher: Mrs  Lesley Phipson
Mrs  Karyn Bruorton
Mrs Casey Kirkwood
Mrs Mary Goosen    
Miss Georgia Du Plessis (Teacher Assistant)
Miss Teegan Hardwick(Teacher Assistant)              
Mrs Rozlyn Bedford (Front Office and Admin Assistant)
HOD / Learning Support / Phase Leader: Ms Carolyn Gilroy  
Grade 1
Ms Delene Langley Section Head                    
Mrs Sandra May (HOD)
Mrs Xenia Greensill
Mrs Bronwyn Muller  
Grade 2
Mrs Jacqui Everitt Section Head
Mrs Liz Murphy                           
Mrs  Lauren Fisher
Miss Tayla Osler  
Grade 3
Mrs Desire Veerasamy Section Head
Mrs  Glenda Marklew
Mrs  Shahnaz Vawda
Mrs  Karyn Glock        
Acting Deputy Headmaster / Phase Leader: Mr Ross Bedford  
Grade 4
Mrs Trish Miloszewski Section Head               
Mrs  Bev Johnston
Mrs  Paige Richards
Miss Chanelle McIntosh    
Grade 5
Mrs Janine Huber Section Head                   
Mr Pieter Mouton
Mrs Ronwyn Lambert  
Grade 6
Mrs Jean Armstrong Section Head                    
Mr Gareth May
Miss Rebecca Hammond  
Grade 7
Mr Mthokozisi Jali Section Head
Mr Stratton Davis
Mr Luke Turner    
Afrikaans                                             Mrs Anne Smith                     (Senior Primary)    
isiZulu                                                  Ms Tiny Majola                     (Junior Primary)
Mrs Sindi Mdlalose                 (Senior Primary)        
Social Science and FAL                     Mr Fa-eez Jaffar      
Natural Sciences                               Mr Michael-Jon Elliott              (Senior Primary)  
Design Technology                           Mrs Samantha Parry               (HOD)                                                                                                                                                               Information Technology                   Mr Ross Bedford                    (Director)             
Mrs Debbie Diana                   (Foundation/Intermediate Phase)                                                           
Miss Rebecca Hammond       (Senior Primary)
                                                           Lennie Govindsamy                (Technical Support)             
Media Education                               Mrs Manorgari Muthusamy     (Media Education)                                                           
Mrs Reeni Ramnath                (Assistant)    
JP Reading Centre                             Mrs Tracey Stentiford                                                                                        
Performing Arts                                  Mrs Annette Briscoe               (Director)  
(Music and Drama)                            Mrs Glynis Harker                                                           
Mrs Daisy Spencer         
                                                    Ms Luisa Scarpa  
Visual Art                                            Mrs  Brenda Thatcher             (Senior Primary)   
                                                          Mrs Loren Firth                        (Junior Primary)  
Extra- and Co-curricular and            Mr Shaun Carroll                     (Sports Director)
Sport Programme and Coaching    Mr Thabo Tshabalala              (JP/RU Head of Sport)    
Physical Education                            Mr Shaun Carroll                     (Senior Primary)
                                                            Mr Thabo Tshabalala              (Junior Primary and RU)
Swim Coaches                                    Mr Marno Langeveldt               (Head Coach)                                                                                  
Learning Support                                Mrs Amber Kiddle                    (Director / Senior Primary)                                                            
Mrs Melanie Fletcher              (Junior Primary)    

The boys of Prep are indeed most fortunate to be able to benefit from the teaching and services of an experienced and dedicated DPHS Staff team. The careful placement of staff in the grade teams allows each grade to enjoy a measure of autonomy, as their respective grade educator teams meet the needs of the boys within each grade. This has a positive effect on the boys, especially in the lower grades, as they get to spend the majority of the academic day with their class teacher. We continue to complement the considerable strength of the grade teams with the input of our team of subject specialists in order to provide a diverse educational experience from which our boys may benefit.

We welcome our new team members to the DPHS community, knowing that they will enjoy a most rewarding and enjoyable teaching experience as part of the PREP team. Ms Luisa Scarpa replaces Mrs Sally Perks in the Junior Primary music department and Mr Zak Paruk, a DPHS Old Boy, joins our internship programme as he completes his Post Graduate Certificate in Education. We know that they will come to enjoy a most rewarding time as members of the DPHS staff team.

We announced, at the end of last year, that Mr Chad Fisher would sadly be leaving DPHS, however, a change in his personal circumstances has meant that Mr Fisher is now able to stay at DPHS as part of the teaching staff. Mr Fisher will resume his fulltime teaching role at the start of the second term. Welcome Mr Fisher, we are delighted to have you “back” on our team.

The DPHS Staff and Governing Body wish our entire Prep Community a 2023 year filled with success, fun and good health.

Yours sincerely

Mr GL Phipson   

DPHS, durban, Durban Preparatory High School, Durban Primary Schools, durban schools
Previous Post
2023 Class Moms and Whatsapp Groups
Next Post
Congrats to the DPHS Old Boys (Class of 2017)

Related Posts

Mothers’ Day Celebration at DPHS

“Life doesn’t come with a manual, it comes with a mother” were the words from today’s Grade 4 Mothers’ Day Assembly, as the boys showed their appreciation and love to…
Read More

DPHS Swimmers Achieve Medals

Five Durban Preparatory High School Boys attended the KZN Provincial Primary Schools Swimming Championships recently at Kings Park Swimming Pool. The competition was tough, but they shone in the pool…
Read More